Dabbles in Vegan Fare

I’m not a vegan, but I like the idea of veganism for its completely cruelty-free, natural, clean way of eat. I’ve thought about trying out being a vegan, but I don’t think I’m ready to sacrifice yogurt, cottage cheese, eggs, pizza, and ice cream yet so I haven’t made the plunge. However, last night I decided to bake some vegan banana-blueberry bread. It turned out quite well!

I really wanted to put chocolate in it, but most chocolate has milk in it so it was a little challenging–you really have to read the labels.  I also wanted it to be super healthy, so I got unsweetened, vegan dark chocolate. It’s pretty bitter, but if you eat the bread with some maple syrup or honey on top it is amazing.

 

I also substituted the 1/2 c of agave nectar for 3/4 cup sugar-free maple syrup, and also added a few packets of Splenda to cut back on the sugar content [and cut back on costs--agave nectar isn't exactly cheap]. Bon appetit!

 

Please excuse the messy stove top.

Ready to eat with a drizzle of maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.