Introduction: Meet the Blogger

Hello, all.

My name is Alicia. I am a health writer, currently living in New York.  My goal is to teach people a thing or two about healthy living through writing, with some humor and subjectiveness thrown in. Health writing is important, but doesn’t need to be stuffy and boring. If you want that, go read the paper.

Health is personal–in fact, our well-being is one of the most personal things we possess. In that vein, I intend to share photos of myself, my friends, my family, and my food on our adventures into the realm of wellness. I will not tell stories like a faceless reporter sans opinion, but rather a real person striving for balance just like so many of us in this world.

I’m especially interested in food and nutrition, but lately the range of my interests has greatly expanded. I have read a lot about health over the past year, and I hope to learn as much as I can about the inner workings of our bodies. Our bodies are powerful machines that can be transformed, controlled, and manipulated in ways that can affect the way we feel on the inside and the outside. Our health behaviors can extend and shorten the length of our lives, which to me, is the most fascinating thing of all.

I digress. I’m sure I’ll reveal too much about myself as this blog blossoms, and nobody wants to read a resume. Therefore, I’m not going to write a traditional bio for you. If you want that, ask my mother. Instead, I thought I’d share some random facts about myself. After all, could you really trust the credibility of my future blog posts without knowing my favorite TV show and my biggest celebrity crush? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

**

Apple juice or orange juice?

Age 2-5: Apple juice.

Age 6+: OJ all the way.

Age 21+: See above. But with some amoretto mixed in.

Morning person or night person?

Morning. If Tabatha’s Salon Takeover (Monday), Teen Mom (Tuesday), Top Chef (Wednesday), and 30 Rock (Thursday) are over, there’s no point in being awake.

Salty or sweet?

Chocolate covered potato chips.

If you could be any animal, what would you be?

A party animal? Or a chimp. I like bananas.

Favorite color?

Purple.

Celebrity crushes?

At the moment, James Franco and this guy I just saw in a JCPenney khakis ad.

Five goals on life to-do list?

1. Run a marathon.

2. Celebrate Mardi Gras in New Orleans.

3. Have the best wedding ever. Followed by an awesome honeymoon. And a happy marriage. And after several years of marital bliss, maybe have a kid or two.

4. Write a book.

5. Travel to every continent.

Favorite TV Show?

The Office. No contest.

If you had to change your name, what would you change it to?

Ava Franco. [After I marry James. Duh].

Top five six favorite movies?

What About Bob, Titanic, Dumb and Dumber, Love and Basketball, Borat, Meet the Parents.

One thing you’d change about yourself?

I’d like to worry less about things that are out of my control.

You’re about to walk the green mile. What do you have as your last meal?

Mozzarella sticks, chicken nuggets, macaroni and cheese,  tortilla chips with gourmet guacamole, a McDonald’s cheeseburger, and a Dairy Queen blizzard with heaps of cookie dough, Reese’s pieces, and hot fudge. And a side of bacon. Then I’d wash it down with some Sangria and a Tequila Sunrise.

If my life’s about to end, I’ll take a pig, cow and chicken down with me. And I want to be tipsy while I do it.

My blizzard must be at least 5 times bigger than this.

Leave a Reply

