Campaign for Cottage Cheese: Week 2

This week, I’m sharing my most common, easiest usage for cottage cheese: salad topping. I go through cottage cheese incredibly quickly each week in large part because I put it on my salad nearly every day for lunch.

I had this whole plan to go to the grocery store in order to make a picturesque, tear-jerking salad full of color and life to post today, but ended up using wax beans and kidney beans which aren’t exactly eye-widening veggies. And to make matters worse, I was so excited to dive into my salad that I forgot to take the picture until I was halfway through eating it. My apologies. My career as a food blogger is in its infant stage.

Alas, here is the salad. Mine consists of a bed of arugula and spinach, topped with kidney beans, wax beans, organic croutons, honey mustard dressing, a Morningstar Chik Patty, and about 1/3 cup of low-fat cottage cheese.  I ate some baby carrots and hummus on the side for color.

Salad making is a craft that takes years to perfect. This, my friends, is a meal of beauty.

You can make your salad with whatever you want, but I like to have a nice mix of veggies, beans, something crunch, and plenty of protein. Whoever said salad was boring has never had lunch with me.

Leave a Reply

