Campaign for Cottage Cheese: Week 3

I love nachos. What I don’t love, however, are the excessive calories that often accompany copious amounts of tortilla chips, cheese, guacamole, refried beans sour cream, and buckets of Crisco mixed with Honeycomb Cereal [Okay, so maybe no Crisco-Honecomb. Just seeing if you were paying attention. If you put that on your nachos, you are a sick].

I recently concocted a simple way to get rid of a bit of guilt that comes with a pile of chips smothered in goodness–and it involves my favorite ingredient.

Before we get to the recipe, there are some basics to remember when building a healthier version of nachos.

First of all, read labels. I like to buy Tostitos Bite Size Rounds Tortilla Chips because you can eat 24 chips for 140 calories. With some other brands, you can only eat 6 chips for the same number of calories. It’s easy, however, to eat 40 of the chips, so use your addition skills to count the chips before piling the toppings on.

I also don’t use sour cream, and if I use guacamole I only use one tablespoon. Wholly Guacamole has a 100 calorie-pack of the tasty avocado mush, so it makes it easier to control yourself.  If I pile on lots of veggies, such as peppers, lettuce, corn, and broccoli, I don’t even miss the other stuff.

As a vegetarian, I cut down on quite a few calories by omitting meat, which you won’t even miss if you use veggies. For those that don’t mind meat substitutes, you can use BOCA Ground Crumbles, which is made of soy but tastes almost like the real stuff–then again, I haven’t eaten cow in 3+ years, so what do I know.

Cheese, however, is my weakness. It simply cannot be omitted.  However, if you use lots of liquid nacho cheese, that will equal lots of unwanted fat and not much else that is beneficial. This is where cottage cheese comes in. Here is a healthier, high protein version version of traditional nacho cheese:

Not-cho Average Fat-cho Cheese

©Alicia Smith, 2011.

1/2 cup cottage cheese

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

A couple shakes of salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder

DIRECTIONS:

1. Mix all of the ingredients together in a microwave safe container.

2. Zap in the microwave until it is warm and melted.

[Warming up cottage cheese may sound weird to you, but trust me, you will love it. It’s just like melting any other cheese. Open up your heart (and mouth)].

3. Pour on your nachos.

4. Devour.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

